About me

Welcome and thanks for checking out my blog! I’m Mary.  I was born in Boston and raised all over the country. My dad was in the air force. Most of my growing up years were spent in Texas. After graduating from college I got a bug in me to go discover my roots. On a whim I moved to Boston.  Best decision I’ve ever made.  I worked in a medical clinic as an assistant.  My initial plan was to go to med school but after learning about physician assistants my career plans changes.  I was accepted to grad school at Duke. PA training was a blast!  The past 20 years of my life have been devoted caring for cardiology patients.  I feel very fortunate to still have a passion for my work.

I live, work and run in the mountains of western North Carolina. My love of running began at the age of 47 in 2012 when on the inspiration to run a 5k with my 82 year old dad I began training. It was not easy. There was a lot of frustration, stopping and starting again. The desire to run with my dad kept me going. Our first race together was the Biltmore Kiwanis 5k were we had tremendous fun running together and both celebrating our podium finishes! I was hooked! Since then I have run numerous 5ks, 10ks, halfs and most recently my first marathon! Dad, now 85, continues to be a competitive runner and continues to be the source of my inspiration to never stop running!

 

IMG_0767

6 thoughts on “About me”

  1. I really enjoyed “meeting” you, Mary! It’s encouraging and inspirational for me to read about successful runners my age. Looking forward to reading more of your blogs! Take care!

    Leanne

  2. Ah, what a coincidence, I just started running about a year ago at the age of 45. And I was born in Boston too, but now living in Southern California. You’re right, it’s never too late to start running!

    1. Hey Brian! Congrats on taking up running! Good luck in your training. SoCal beats Boston winters hands down! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: